Home > School > On UPD College of Engineering Summer Registration, AY 07-08

On UPD College of Engineering Summer Registration, AY 07-08

Disclaimer: I wasn’t there myself. This post is merely a reflection of what I’ve read and heard from my contacts.

"Enrolling for summer classes sucked. Stupid form 5s." – Leslie Ng

That’s what Leslie said when I asked for a comment regarding the summer registration process of the College of Engineering. Looking over at blog entries created by some of my contacts, I conclude that this sentiment is common among the summer enrollees.

What went wrong? According to Jamie Polloso:

Hi-nold lang naman nila lahat ng Form 5 sa [Engineering Admistration Office], so you have to wait for hundreds (even thousands) of Form 5as na chinecheck nila bawa’t isa yung eligibilty. parang,  ‘whaaaattt?’ if they’re going to do that, sana man lang madami silang tao (at computer), or at least some kind of public address system para hindi nagkandaloko2 yung mga tao kung anong no. na ba.,diba?

Translation: They held-up our Form 5’s at the Engineering Administration Office (Admin), so you have to wait for hundreds (even thousands) of Form 5a’s that the people at the Admin check for eligibility. Like, "what?" If they’re going to do that, they should have deployed enough personnel (and computers), or at least some kind of public address system so people would not be confused on what number is being called, right?

To provide a view of how much of a hassle this system became, let me share this text message I received from Richie: "Ang bago kong Admin number: 1,722. Anong number pa lang? 700 something." (My new Admin number: 1,722. And what number is being called? 700 something.) Jamie wrote that she had to wait 7 hours for her Form 5.

My reaction would be like: Why didn’t they hand the Form 5a’s to the respective departments, so the "load" may be distributed, and only ineligible students are to come to the Admin for their 5a? If I’m not mistaken, this is what they do during registration on a regular semester.

The process is "un-engineer-like" — not being able to foresee this "disaster." This is almost like last year’s summer registration — when the UP Diliman implemented complete computerization of the enlistment/registration process.

I’m hoping to get a guest blogger over to post his/her first-hand experience during the summer registration.

Want to share your experience? Post them in the comments section.

  1. ia
    April 11, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    The process is “un-engineer-like” — not being able to foresee this “disaster.” This is almost like last year’s summer registration — when the UP Diliman implemented complete computerization of the enlistment/registration process.

    Haha, and I think the computer science department should be the one to analyze and solve this problem. As well as registration throughout UP… even other registration systems like that of the government.🙂

  2. April 11, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    I agree. The Industrial Engineering Department should help too (this is an optimization problem, I think, so their skills would be helpful).

  3. jamie
    April 12, 2008 at 9:22 am

    haha trinanslate mo pa talaga. sorry, mas feel ko magrant sa tagalog. anyway, it still sucks. >_<

  4. thysearchforself
    April 17, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    uhm, the real problem was hindi nila narelease yung list ng ineligible students so they had to check the grades themselves.

    pero, the thing is, they could have asked the departments to do it for them. masyado atang mapride ang admin.

    link ex?

  5. April 17, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    @thysearchforself: Hmmmm… I see now. But yes, I agree with you that they should have asked the departments to do the grade-checking for them. I hope this is a “lesson learned” for the College.

  6. April 19, 2008 at 2:09 am

    Hmmm. It’s a good thing my aunt convinced me not to enroll for the summer classes. I was actually thinking of getting some GEs. Haha. Is this really the trend during summer registrations (crappy)?

    Answer to your comment in my blog: Asa naman tayo diyan JJ. Before this semester, I got a “grand” GWA of 1.46 something–just 0.01 short of getting a magna cum laude standing. Now it’s only 1.52. Philo 11 really pulled my average down. Grrr. How about you?

  7. April 19, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Wow magna!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

