Home > Personal, School > Peyups Chronicles (Part 2: My Profs)

Peyups Chronicles (Part 2: My Profs)

It feels good to have another week off at home. My first two weeks have been very exhausting. Today, I want to tell you my initial experiences with my different professors.

First off, my CS11 prof is Ma'am Riza Batista. She's actually a very nice person, and very good when it comes to computers. She discusses lessons in a way that even the dumbest in computers can understand what she's trying to say (well, that was my impression; at least).

Next, my NatSci1 prof, Dr. Jose Magpantay. He's very strict when it comes to his students' attendance (which I had a first hand experience; see Part 1). But, I think he is also a nice person, and not the "terror" prof that really "terrorize" his students. He is also a very knowledgeable person when it comes to Physics. In fact, his Ph.D. was in High Energy Physics and his theses were being used by scientists all around the world. He speaks very fast English though, and sometimes, it's very hard to understand what he's saying.

Now, next in line is Mr. Alex Dacanay, my Eng1 prof. We've only met in class once, but I can say, he is another one of my nice profs. I think he mentioned giving us bonus points already, maybe because he wasn't able to meet us for the past three meetings. He promised not to terrorize us with so many assignments and exams, and to prove it (maybe) he let us "enjoy the weekend." He made us write an essay the first meeting. What we did was to pick from a list of sentences from which we would continue and develop into a narrative, a letter, or a short story. It was sort of a diagnostic exercise and will not be part of our final grade, he said.

My PE "coach" comes next — Coach Noel Rivera; he doesn't want to be called a "prof" or even a "sir". He is pretty strict with his requirements, though he's nice nonetheless. Our first activity was what he called a "get-to-know walk," in which we would pick a partner from the opposite sex and walk with him/her along the 1km route he specified. My partner and I finished the 1k walk in 11 minutes; we were first!

Then my Kas1 prof, the knowledgeable historian, Dr. Dante Ambrosio. He's co-author and consultant of several history books and a very good professor. What I hate about his subject is his requirements; they're too darn hard! Two 4-page reaction papers, One 15-page individual report, a map exam, 2 long exams and recitation. Well, this may not be that hard for some, but for a person like me who always hated writing, this sucks! I once thought of canceling his class and opting for a changemat but I don't want to go all through the hassle of the prerog.

Lastly, my Math17 prof, Ma'am Kazanidis (I'm not sure of the spelling, though). She reminds me of my high school Math-B instructor, Mrs. Untalan. They sound very same! From their teaching style, to their voice!🙂 She only gives 2-item quizzes and assignments that we would not even correct! Plus, our recitation per class accounts to a +1 on our first major exam. And best of all, a complete attendance awards you bonus points! That was nice, especially because, since June 15th, she only checked our attendance thrice! And we meet four times a week! Haha.🙂

What about your profs? What were they? Go ahead! Tell me by posting a comment.

Check out for Part 3 later this week!

Categories: Personal, School
  1. Ace
    July 8, 2006 at 2:06 pm

    Hi!🙂 Nagcomment lang ako para sabihing I’ve been here na.😉 Hehehe. Ako nga pala si Ace, remember?🙂

    Ayun. Sige, I’m looking forward to being “blogmates” (what a term) with you. Ingat!🙂

  2. July 8, 2006 at 4:52 pm

    Hello, Ace. Exchange links?

  3. diana
    October 21, 2006 at 1:58 am

    just passed by your site. omg. i’m going to have the same kas 1 teacher.😄 natatakot na ko. hahaha. i don’t want to do prerog too. oh well. umpisahan ko nang magmemorize ng mapa this sembreak. hahahahaha.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

